National Science Teaching Association Welcomes New Board and Council Members

The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA), the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all, welcomed four new members to its Board of Directors and six new members to its Council.

“NSTA is a professional association that is led by an amazing group of committed, knowledgeable educators. I am honored to work alongside these talented individuals to transform science education to benefit all,” said Erika Shugart, Ph.D., executive director, NSTA.

The new board members join a 13-member board that oversees NSTA’s finances, policies and procedures, and strategic planning. New board members include

  • Julie Luft, NSTA President-Elect

    Distinguished Research Professor and Athletic Association Professor of Mathematics and Science Education, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia

  • Jodi Bahr, NSTA Division Director, High School Science Teaching

    Science Teacher, Harvard Middle/High School, Harvard, Nebraska

  • Richard Jones, NSTA Division Director, Post-Secondary Science Teaching

    Professor of Science Education, University of Hawaii West Oahu, Kapolei, Hawaii

  • Kristen Crawford, NSTA Division Director, Coordination and Supervision of Science Teaching

    K–12 Supervisor of Science, School District of the Chathams, Chatham, New Jersey

Comprised of 18 district directors, each member of the council is the official representative of NSTA in their geographic district and serves as the primary liaison on issues of importance to science and improvement of science education at all levels. The council functions as the advisory body to the board of directors. New council members include

  • Kim Cherry Burnett, NSTA District III Director (Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland)

    Clinical Faculty, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland

  • Amy Trujillo, NSTA District V Director (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)

    Instructional Coach, Orlando Science Schools, Orlando, Florida

  • Angela Osuji, NSTA District IX Director (Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota)

    Chemistry, Physics, and Physical Science Teacher, Washburn High School, Minneapolis, Minnesota

  • Brianna Walentine, NSTA District XI Director (Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)

    Instructional Facilitator/Coach, Bryan Middle School, Omaha, Nebraska

  • Chris Taylor, NSTA District XV Director (Idaho, Montana, Wyoming)

    K–12 Science and Sustainability Supervisor, Boise School District, Boise, Idaho

  • Johanna Brown, NSTA District XVII Director (Alaska, Oregon, Washington)

    Chemistry and Computer Science Teacher, Pullman High School, Pullman, Washington

For a complete listing of the NSTA Board of Directors and Council, please visit

About NSTA

The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) is a vibrant community of 40,000 science educators and professionals committed to best practices in teaching science and its impact on student learning. NSTA offers high-quality science resources and continuous learning so that science educators can grow professionally and excel in their careers. For new and experienced teachers alike, the NSTA community offers the opportunity to network with like-minded peers at the national level, connect with mentors and leading researchers, and learn from the best in the field.


Data & News supplied by
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.