Former NSTA President Receives National Science Teaching Association’s Top Award

Christine Royce, Professor at Shippensburg University, Recognized for National Leadership and Contributions in the Field of Science Education

The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) announced the recipients of its 2023 Teacher Awards. NSTA annually recognizes extraordinary K–12 teachers, professors, principals, and science educators for their outstanding achievements in science education.

“Congratulations to all the outstanding NSTA award winners. NSTA Teacher Awards are one of the highest honors any educator can receive. We are extremely proud of the work these incredible educators have accomplished. Each one of them is an exemplary role model for their colleagues and an inspiration for their students,” said NSTA President Elizabeth Mulkerrin.

NSTA presented its most prestigious award, the Robert H. Carleton Award for National Leadership in the Field of Science Education, to Christine Royce, professor in the Teacher Education Department at Shippensburg University in Shippensburg, Pennsylvania. The Robert H. Carleton Award recognizes one individual who has made outstanding contributions to and provided leadership in science education at the national level, particularly to NSTA. Royce received her award during a special evening celebration at NSTA’s National Conference on Science Education in Atlanta, Georgia, on March 24.

Royce’s work comprises an awe-inspiring roster of leadership and service contributions in science education. At Shippensburg University, Royce co-directs and teaches courses for the Master of Science Teaching (MAT) degree program. She has been hailed as a penultimate role model and lifelong learner who is always willing to reach out and help others, drawing on the knowledge she has gained from earning a doctorate in Curriculum, Instruction, and Technology Education—Science Education, as well as several master’s degrees. She has completed extensive graduate work in multiple areas of the physical and environmental sciences and is deeply involved with NASA and the space sciences.

David Barnes, Associate Executive Director of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, observed, “Chris Royce brings science education expertise; the wealth of institutional and subject knowledge; true leadership; consistent connecting, engaging, and involving others; and selfless energy to reach out and expand connections to other disciplines.”

Royce has demonstrated a longtime commitment to NSTA’s success, serving as 2018–2019 NSTA President and as NSTA Professional Development Division Director for three years, and working on numerous committees, review panels, and task forces, including the Budget and Finance Committee, the Strategic Goals Task Force, and the Science and Children Manuscript Review Panel. She chaired the association’s 2010 National Conference on Science Education in Philadelphia and has given presentations at many NSTA national and area conferences over the years.

While Royce’s work with NSTA is extensive, her efforts reach well beyond NSTA to other science organizations and other fields, nationally and internationally. She works directly with organizations and people to provide professional learning opportunities at conferences and workshops; is active in myriad other professional organizations, such as the National Science Education Leadership Association, the Association of Science Teacher Educators, and the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education; has written numerous books, articles, and commentaries; devotes significant time to community service; and leads by mentoring various individuals in the education community.

“Christine Royce has gone above and beyond the spirit of the Robert H. Carleton Award! She has demonstrated her passion for science education through all the work she has completed nationally and locally. Christine is always there to mentor emerging science educators and leaders. She is an extraordinary role model for all of us,” said Mulkerrin.

Royce received $5,000, a formal citation, and an all expenses-paid trip to attend the conference in Atlanta.

NSTA encourages science educators to apply for its 2024 Teacher Awards. Applications and information can be found online at

About NSTA

The National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) is a vibrant community of 40,000 science educators and professionals committed to best practices in teaching science and its impact on student learning. NSTA offers high-quality science resources and continuous learning so that science educators grow professionally and excel in their career. For new and experienced teachers alike, the NSTA community offers the opportunity to network with like-minded peers at the national level, connect with mentors and leading researchers, and learn from the best in the field. For more information, visit, or follow NSTA on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, and LinkedIn.

Congratulations to former #NSTA president, Christine Royce, Ed.D., on receiving the Robert H. Carleton Award for National Leadership in the Field of Science Education. @caroyce #scied


Data & News supplied by
Stock quotes supplied by Barchart
Quotes delayed at least 20 minutes.
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.